728 x 90

Senate votes 56-43 to confirm Lynch as attorney general


US Senate confirmed Loretta Lynch as the next US attorney general
US Senate confirmed Loretta Lynch as the next US attorney general
The Senate on Thursday confirmed Loretta Lynch for attorney general, clearing the way for her to become the first African-American woman to ever serve as the nation’s top law enforcement official, according to an article published in The Hill on April 23, 2015.
Senators voted 56-43 to confirm Lynch, more than 160 days after she was first nominated for the position by President Obama.
Ten Republican senators broke ranks and sided with Democrats to get Lynch over the 50-vote threshold: Kelly Ayotte (N.H.), Orrin Hatch (Utah), Lindsey Graham (S.C.), Susan Collins (Maine), Jeff Flake (Ariz.), Mark Kirk (Ill.), Rob Portman (Ohio), Thad Cochran (Miss.), Ron Johnson (Wis.) and Mitch McConnell (Ky.).
Ayotte, Kirk, Portman and Johnson are up for reelection in 2016. Texas Sen. Ted Cruz, a Republican presidential candidate who said he would oppose Lynch, missed the vote.
"Today, the Senate finally confirmed Loretta Lynch to be America’s next Attorney General — and America will be better off for it," Obama said in a statement.
Attorney General Eric Holder, who has remained in office while the confirmation process played out, said he was "pleased" that the Senate had approved his successor.
Lynch received one of the closest votes in recent memory for an attorney general nominee. Conservative groups had been pressuring Republicans to oppose her over Obama’s executive actions on immigration, among other things.